TheRecordLabel: Pop & Rock

Henning Pauly > Credit Where Credit is Due

Henning Pauly - Credit Where Credit is Due


Price: $3.95


Henning Pauly is well known for his participation in Prog projects like Frameshift and Chain....

Fans of Frameshift will surely appreciate this opportune album. One word of caution is that this...

...While it is cuts such as ‘Your Mother is a Trucker,’ ‘Scheiblautundhartwiedreck,’ and...

...On this album, Henning could have used any number of vocalists he’s used in the past but he...

Read all

It is summer and it's hot in California. For the recording musician it means that air conditioners are causing problems and are generally too loud. So, the musician can either sit on their ass and do nothing or simply switch gears and record an album with sounds that are louder than the air conditioners. This is what Henning Pauly decided to do when he realized that moving on to his rock-opera "Babysteps" was not possible right now. He called up the singer of the new band of his bandmates from Chain, Transmission, in Germany and asked if he was available. Juan Roos immediately said yes to the project, but he only had a two week window and it was two weeks from that phone call. Henning loves deadlines and so he started writing to have the album written and recorded, minus vocals, within two weeks.

Henning describes Juan's voice as a perfect blend between Geoff Tate and David Coverdale:
"Juan can give you the high stuff, but he can also be really raspy and rocky...his voice just kicks you square in the nuts!"

Because of the very limited time frame for the conception and production of "Credit where credit is due" Henning asked his proven writing team to join in when it comes to lyrics and melodies, so Matt Cash is on board again, as are Edward Heppenstall and Jason McSheehy.
Several songs on the album loosely deal with the world of rockstars, scandals and getting credit for what one has done. No need, really, to point out here that everyone involved will get credit where credit is due.

The music is loud, heavy and realism has been shoved behind production value on the list of priorities. Heavy Industrial Drum sounds are interspersed with acoustic sets. The banjo finds its way into metal again and sometimes you can draw clear parallels to the work of Trent Reznor and Marylin Manson. There's more to it than just that, but the production is clearly more modern than anything Henning is done so far.

This CD was about having fun with music and production and it gives Henning a chance to be back in the studio and have fun doing what he loves the most...making music, not talking about it.

CD Artwork by Moritz Stübig

Album tracks

  • 1 - 01 - Your Mother Is A Trucker
  • 2 - 02 - Cure the Breach
  • 3 - 03 - Three
  • 4 - 04 - Scheisslautundhartwiedreck
  • 5 - 05 - I Don't Wanna Be A Rockstar
  • 6 - 06 - Six
  • 7 - 07 - Seven
  • 8 - 08 - Radio Sucks
  • 9 - 09 - Halo
  • 10 - 10 - Copyright Conspiracy
  • 11 - 11 - German Metalhead
  • 12 - 12 - I Like My Video Games

Album samples